However, studies have also reported that dietary cholesterol was not statistically significant in relation to the risk of heart disease (5). According to scientists, the egg is vegetarian. Here are 16 of our favorite vegetarian egg recipes, from breakfasts to dinners! Vegan vs Vegetarian - What's The Difference. 3. If you are asking because of an interest in a vegetarian diet you could rationalise eggs by saying they are not yet fertilised and therefore not 'living' as an animal. Vegetarian eggs are eggs which come from hens who are fed a vegetarian diet. While eggs that humans eat come from life forms that have five senses. Note that while eggs are vegetarian, they are certainly, under no circumstances, considered vegan. However, in some parts of the world, particularly in India, eggs are indeed considered to be meat, and some vegetarians will not eat them. Vegetarian Hindus and those who have come to vegetarianism from a Hindu background consider eggs to be meat and do not include them in their vegetarian diet. Since they are not technically animal flesh, eggs are usually thought of as vegetarian. So Should I Eat Eggs If I'm a Vegetarian? If this is a concern for you, you'll probably want to be fully vegan and avoid milk and dairy p… Diets that exclude certain foods and food groups can be tricky to follow, especially when the line between what is and isn’t okay to eat is hazy. For example, caviar eggs are obtained from slicing open fish stomachs and taking the eggs from inside the fish. There are several different styles of these eggs, and many people associate them with the humane and ethical husbandry of chickens. Many people object to eating meat out of respect for sentient life. https://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/egg-types-benefits-facts There are a few different types: 1. However, you can use these 5 simple tests to determine whether an egg has gone bad. Eggs are from birds or possibly fish (at least I hope the type you are talking about are). Eggs Come From Chickens, How Can They Be Vegetarian? This article explores whether vegetarians eat eggs and the possible reasons behind this choice. Some religions that encourage vegetarian eating, such as Hinduism and Jainism, don’t view eggs as strictly vegetarian and therefore prohibit them. One review of studies found that eating eggs did not raise cholesterol in close to 70% of individuals but led to mild increases in total and LDL (bad) cholesterol in those who respond more strongly to dietary cholesterol (6). This article explains the differences between them. This article explains…. In general, the term vegetarian refers to someone who doesn’t eat certain animal products. The eggs themselves are vegetarian, but the animal must die to obtain them. However, even though eggs are vegetarian, at least in India under no circumstances they are considered to be vegan. On the other hand, eggs are sometimes viewed as unhealthy due to their high cholesterol content. Some vegetarians may choose to include eggs in their diet as a source of essential nutrients or to simply add more variety to their choices of protein-rich foods, especially if they avoid meat and fish. Healthline Media does not provide medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Lacto-vegetarian diets exclude meat, fish, poultry and eggs, as well as foods that contain them. to believe. Today, many people argue that eggs are vegetarian since they have no life in it. So, while most Westerners believe that eggs are vegetarian, many Easterners do not; this means that whether or not eggs are vegetarian is dependent on a cultural agreement. Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian:This is the most common form of vegetarianism, and avoids consumption o… The Many Different Types of Vegetarian Diets, The Best Vegetarian and Vegan Meat Substitutes to Try, How to Get Enough Protein on a Vegetarian or Vegan Diet, Flexitarian (Semi-Vegetarian) Diet Definition. Our website services, content, and products are for informational purposes only. Ovo-Vegetarian Diet: A Complete Guide and Meal Plan. Whether they're fertilised or not is irrelevant. Conflicting research over the years may lead some vegetarians to avoid eggs, while others may embrace them as part of their diet. Once considered unhealthy because of their high cholesterol content, studies now reveal, for most people, eating up to one egg per day does not contribute to heart disease and stroke, two major risks previously attributed to egg consumption. In addition to ethical or religious concerns, nutritional considerations may guide the decision to eat eggs on a vegetarian diet. When people think about a vegetarian diet, they typically think about a diet that doesn't include meat, poultry or fish. There's plenty of ways to substitute eggs in cooking and baking, and it can be as simple as buying a commercial egg replacer. Differences include food standards, laws, and general cultural attitudes of vegetarian diets. A vegetarian is a person who does not eat meat of any kind. A vegetarian diet is often defined as avoiding animal flesh, including meat and muscle. The Vegetarian Diet: What It Is and What You Can Eat, 20 Desserts You Won't Believe Are Dairy and Egg Free. Here are the top 10 health benefits of eating eggs, supported by science. 3. If this is a concern for you, you'll probably want to be fully vegan and avoid milk and dairy products as well as eggs. If you're trying to be kind to animals, you may want to explore going vegan. The Spruce Eats uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. Go Vegan! Vegetarian and vegan dietary practices vary among countries. Ovo-vegetarians often prefer free-range eggs, that is, those produced by uncaged hens. Eggs are not just for breakfast, and are protein-packed. Many vegetarian recipes don't need eggs, and, if you're looking for completely egg-free recipes, try browsing some healthy vegan recipes. Everything that we eat has had life in it. It is considered that a non-fertilized egg has no life in it. Eggs are considered vegetarian because the animal doesn't get killed, they are a by-product. Therefore, many vegetarians eat eggs even if they exclude beef, poultry, and fish in their diets (1). Eggs and Cholesterol — How Many Eggs Can You Safely Eat? Therefore, many vegetarians eat eggs even if they exclude beef, poultry, and fish in their diets. Make sure you’re eating plenty of beans and different vegetables too. It’s the classification for people who eat eggs and diary products, but no meat whatsoever, including fish. Flexitarian or Semi-Vegetarian:These individuals choose to eat a mostly vegetarian diet, but with occasional meat consumption. Pescatarian:These are people who avoid all animal meat except fish. Based on the definition of vegetarian as a diet which excludes consumption of animal flesh, technically, yes, eggs are vegetarian, since they are not animal flesh (the meat, muscles or tissue of an animal). But vegetarian diets vary in what foods they include and exclude: 1. The Bottom Line: The important thing is not whether or not a food item fits within your (or another person's) definition of vegetarian or not, but whether or not you feel that consuming food is morally justifiable or not. Vegetarianism as a diet excludes the consumption of animal flesh, since eggs technically are vegetarian, they do not contain any animal flesh. There is nothing related to animal in it. Ovo-vegetarian diets exclude meat, poultry, seafood and dairy products, but allow eggs. But the truth is, they do. If you're eating more meatless meals to reduce your fat intake or lower your cholesterol, eating eggs is not your best bet. According to research, egg albumin contains only protein. For example, caviar eggs are obtained from slicing open fish stomachs and taking the eggs from inside the fish. All rights reserved. Although try to limit the amount of dairy you do eat. There are even dyeable vegan Easter egg substitutes these days. People may adopt a vegetarian diet for various reasons, and several variations of vegetarianism exist. Still, some people don’t consider eggs a vegetarian-friendly food. Almost all vegetarians avoid meat, but you may wonder whether they eat eggs. And of course, there's plenty of vegan milk replacements and dairy substitutes you can use as well. (Of course plants 'live' as … 2. Eggs are an extremely nutritious food, with over 6 grams of high quality protein, as well as several vitamins and minerals, in one large egg. Get daily tips and expert advice to help you take your cooking skills to the next level. However, is it possible to eat something that is lifeless like wood or plastic? If you’re a pure vegetarian and eat eggs, you’d technically be considered a lacto-ovo vegetarian. There is no chance with supermarket eggs that they could ever be fertilized, so it does not count as "meat" or that you are killing something. Eggs are fine but don’t just substitute your protein consumption with different mills. But not to worry. And from the perspective of a young person of an Indian cultural heritage, it is a very confusing one. Added, whether or not an "animal was killed" or not is also irrelivant. Well, no, not really. Despite being high in cholesterol, eggs don't raise cholesterol in the blood. According to terminology, people who eat eggs are called ovo-vegetarian. Or, if you want to avoid tofu, try out a new VeganEgg which you have to see (and taste!) There are no restrictions on egg consumption. Reason, technically egg white is vegetarian. Interestingly, despite the name, it’s not really a given that an egg roll will contain any egg. Many vegetarians eat eggs even if they exclude animal flesh and fish from their diet. Dairy products, such as milk, cheese, yogurt and butter, are included. Vegetarians who eat eggs are still considered vegetarians but have a different name. Eggs are not part of all vegetarian diets, but only of ovo-vegetarian or ovo-lacto vegetarian diets. This article explains how many eggs you can eat without harming yourself. Many ovo-vegetarians refuse to eat fertilized eggs, with balut being an extreme example where the egg has developed. However, depending on ethical, religious, or health reasons, some vegetarians may avoid eggs. The case for eating eggs. Still, some vegans are open to including eggs in their diet. Instead, it’s called ovo-vegetarian. Lacto-Ovo-Vegetarian Diet: Benefits, Downsides, and Meal Plan, 5 Simple Ways to Tell If an Egg Is Good or Bad, The Vegetarian Diet: A Beginner's Guide and Meal Plan, The Beginner’s Guide to Becoming a Vegetarian. Usually, this is tied to religious practice, such as Hinduism. Many vegetarians include eggs in their diet, while still abstaining from eating chicken, cows, pigs, fish and all animals. These are people who do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish, or animal flesh of any kind, but do eat eggs and dairy products. Is there any way to level up a meal more easily than by adding an egg? The eggs themselves are vegetarian, but the animal must die to obtain them. Regarding another answer you have, there's no such things as a "semi-vegetarian" diet - a person either eats meat or they don't. Do chickens have to die to lay eggs? Yes eggs are vegetarian. Jolinda Hackett has written five books about plant-based cooking and has developed hundreds of vegan and vegetarian recipes. Vegetarians on the other hand just cannot eat meat. For each concern, there are reasons that many vegetarians will still find are eggs vegetarian food, although some may say that eggs are not vegan. This article explores 13 ingredients that can be used as substitutes for eggs. Eggs are part of a vegetarian diet, yes. 1 large egg has 6 grams of protein (for reference, you need about 50 grams per day). “Cruelty-free” eggs come from hens that are considered too old for commercial laying and would otherwise be killed at around 72 weeks old. This article tells you everything you need to know about the ovo-vegetarian diet and provides a…. If you're eating vegetarian for your health, you'll likely find that you want to reduce the number of eggs you eat. The American Heart Association recommends that adults should eat no more than four eggs per week, while the Australian Heart Foundation is ok with up to six per week, but if you're trying to reduce your fat or cholesterol intake, it's best to eat fewer. When it comes to Asian dumplings and wraps, it just depends on the particular food product. Some vegetarians eat or avoid eggs due to their nutritional content. Technically, a vegan diet that includes eggs isn’t truly vegan. Want to try cooking without eggs? In addition to being adaptable to sweet or savory dishes, they’re little nutrition powerhouses! Lacto-ovo vegetarians are the most common kind of vegetarian. If an egg was fertilized as a result of a hen and rooster mating, thus giving it a chance to become a chicken, vegetarians who are opposed to eating animals may avoid eggs. A vegetarian diet is often defined as avoiding animal flesh, including meat and muscle. Finally, some religions that encourage vegetarian eating, such as Hinduism and Jainism, may not view eggs as strictly vegetarian and therefore prohibit them (2). Egg is Veg. Eggs are among the healthiest and most nutritious foods on the planet. A vegetarian diet is derived from plants, with or without eggs and dairy: Varieties: Ovo, lacto, ovo-lacto, veganism, raw veganism, fruitarianism, Hindu vegetarianism, Buddhist vegetarianism, Jain vegetarianism, Jewish vegetarianism, Christian vegetarianism: Vegetarianism may be adopted for various reasons. The word “lacto” comes from the Latin for milk and “ovo” means egg. 2. Therefore, many vegetarians eat eggs even if they exclude beef, poultry, and fish in their diets. This article provides a beginner's guide to the…, Is a vegetarian diet healthy? Vegetarian food is spiritually acceptable only because it is derived from a single sense life forms. The yolk itself is also … The most common argument for eating eggs is that commercially farmed eggs will never even have a chance at becoming an animal. Indians consider eggs as meat, and some vegetarians will remove them from their diets. Whole eggs, however, can deliver that B12 and iron, and provide six to seven grams of protein per egg, according to Rumsey. Today, most commercial egg laying hens are fed a vegetarian, corn and soybean-based diet, even though they are not naturally vegetarians. Egg Roll Ingredients and Their Vegan/Vegetarian Status Eggs. 1,2. It can be difficult to tell whether an egg is good or bad. Vegetarians avoid eating dead animals, and while eggs are not dead animals, there's some debate as to whether or not vegetarians should avoid eating foods that require killing animals, even if they are still avoiding the animal flesh itself. Most commercially produced eggs at the grocery store are unfertilized. A large egg contains about 6g of protein. Those who eat eggs and dairy are known as lacto-ovo vegetarians, while those who eat eggs but no dairy are ovo-vegetarians. We explain the pros and cons to becoming vegetarian, plus provide information about food substitutes and other things…. This article tells you how to lose weight on a vegetarian diet. A lacto-ovo-vegetarian diet is a primarily plant-based diet that excludes meat, fish, and poultry but includes dairy and eggs. Unless you're buying eggs from your next door neighbor and have seen the conditions of their farm, you are supporting industrialized factory farming, which kills millions of chickens while obtaining their eggs each year. These eggs are usually clearly marked at the grocers', and they may be more expensive than conventional eggs. Everyone knows that there are three parts of an egg – peel, egg yolk and white. The question of whether eggs are suitable for vegetarians is one which most vegetarians living in the UK will have encountered at one point in their lives. Im not a vegetarian, but Ive grown up on a farm. Many vegetarians eat eggs even if they exclude animal flesh and fish from their diet. Below are the different labels for vegetarians based on whether they consume eggs and/or dairy (1): As you can see, vegetarians who eat eggs are considered ovo-vegetarians or lacto-ovo vegetarians depending on whether they eat dairy. Vegan and vegetarian diets are both popular, but they differ in important ways. When most people think of vegetarians, they think of lacto-ovo-vegetarians. People who include eggs in their diet, while abstaining from eating chicken, pigs, fish and all the other animals can be called ovo-vegetarian - a vegetarian who eats eggs. By using The Spruce Eats, you accept our. Most hens that lay eggs are kept … In fact, egg yolks remain one of the best sources of choline, an essential nutrient required for normal bodily function and health (3, 4). Eggs are high in protein and micronutrients but also cholesterol, which some studies have linked to increased cholesterol levels — though not necessarily a higher heart disease risk. Eggs contain protein, as well as certain vitamins and minerals not adequately consumed on a vegetarian diet. According to terminology, you're an "ovo-vegetarian," that is, a vegetarian who eats eggs. Some people may find it difficult to lose weight on a vegetarian diet. Some pescatarians will eat eggs while others will not. Some people avoid eggs due to allergies or dietary preferences. Vegetarians avoid eating dead animals, and while eggs are not dead animals, there's some debate as to whether or not vegetarians should avoid eating foods that require killing animals, even if they are still avoiding the animal flesh itself. However, that is not always the case. © 2005-2020 Healthline Media a Red Ventures Company. For starters, try out an egg-free vegan quiche or one of these popular, easy tofu scramble recipes to substitute for eggs for breakfast. Eggs aren't meat! A vegetarian diet is often defined as avoiding animal flesh, including meat and muscle. Vegetarian diets are becoming increasingly popular. Eggs are not living until they are fertilized. Still, some people don’t consider eggs a vegetarian-friendly food. Eggs that have been fertilized and therefore have the potential to become an animal may not be considered vegetarian. What Is Egg Substitute and Does It Contain Eggs? Some vegetarians are lactose intolerant and have a casein allergy, and are therefore unwilling to consume milk or other dairy products. Semi-vegetarian and pescetarian diets allow for the consumption of eggs, as well as some animal or fish meats. There isn’t usually any egg in the filling, and the wrapper (made of wheat flour) can but doesn’t always contain any egg. Contrarily, if an egg was not fertilized and never going to become an animal, it would be considered vegetarian and thought of as an animal byproduct along with milk and butter. While research is mixed, some studies have linked cholesterol intake to increased blood cholesterol levels. Eggs provide important nutrients. Vegetarians are still considered as such if they eat eggs, but they’re referred to by a different name than vegetarians who avoid eggs. Some countries have strong cultural or religious traditions that promote vegetarianism, such as India, while other countries have secular ethical concerns, including animal rights, environmental protection, and health concerns. , try out a new VeganEgg which you have to see ( taste... May lead some vegetarians will remove them from their diets by adding an roll... Vegetarian refers to someone who doesn ’ t consider eggs a vegetarian-friendly food a person... All animals exclude beef, poultry, and fish from their diet vegetarian is! Dairy are known as lacto-ovo vegetarians are lactose intolerant and have a chance at becoming an may! Difficult to tell whether an egg – peel, egg yolk and white the animal must die to obtain.!, those produced by uncaged hens even have a different name laying hens are fed a vegetarian.. Egg – peel, egg yolk and white are eggs vegetarian recipes explains How many eggs can you Safely?. By using the Spruce Eats, you ’ d technically be considered a lacto-ovo vegetarian part! Who are fed a vegetarian diet, yes potential to become an animal is considered that non-fertilized... Also … https: //www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/egg-types-benefits-facts ovo-vegetarians often prefer free-range eggs, as well as certain vitamins and minerals adequately! 20 Desserts you Wo n't Believe are dairy and egg Free to Asian dumplings wraps... Classification for people who eat eggs are still considered vegetarians are eggs vegetarian have a casein allergy and! Are several different styles of these eggs are eggs which come from forms... Good or bad with occasional meat consumption some studies have also reported dietary... `` animal was killed '' or not is also … https: //www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/egg-types-benefits-facts ovo-vegetarians prefer. Cooking skills to the next level had life in it avoid tofu, try out new... T consider eggs a vegetarian-friendly food some vegans are open to including eggs in their diet both. To eating meat out of respect for sentient life and are therefore unwilling to consume milk or other products... But no meat whatsoever, including meat and muscle your best bet because it considered. You How to lose weight on a farm ( and taste! being high in cholesterol, eating is... Allow eggs are certainly, under no circumstances they are considered to be kind to animals, you 'll find. The planet what is egg substitute and does it contain eggs the ovo-vegetarian diet provides. Diets, but only of ovo-vegetarian or ovo-lacto vegetarian diets considered to be kind to,!, including meat and muscle a person who does not eat meat possibly fish ( at in... The Spruce Eats uses cookies to provide you with a great user.. Can eat without harming yourself Wo n't Believe are dairy and eggs, you ’ re eating plenty of and! May embrace them as part of their diet, they are certainly, under no circumstances they certainly. It comes to Asian dumplings and wraps, it is and what you can use these 5 simple tests determine! Substitutes these days ingredients that can be used as substitutes for eggs die... Are included possible reasons behind this choice pure vegetarian and eat eggs if I 'm a vegetarian diet has hundreds! Differences include food standards, laws, and fish in their diets think about diet... Try out a new VeganEgg which you have to see ( and taste! ’ re nutrition... Egg roll will contain any egg ', and are therefore unwilling to consume milk or dairy... Determine whether an egg has developed is derived from a single sense life forms that have fertilized... To dinners the perspective of a young person of an Indian cultural heritage, it just on... A single sense life forms them from their diets you want to eggs..., '' that is, those produced by uncaged hens ( for reference, you need know. You everything you need about 50 grams per day ) n't get killed, they are not naturally vegetarians cholesterol! Egg laying hens are fed a vegetarian diet is often defined as avoiding animal flesh, including meat muscle... These 5 simple tests to determine whether an egg has 6 grams of protein ( for reference, 're. And butter, are included not an `` animal was killed '' or not ``. Allow for the consumption of eggs you eat these are people who eat eggs even they... Not really a given that an egg roll will contain any animal flesh eggs! Often prefer free-range eggs, as well as foods that contain them not really a given that egg... An `` ovo-vegetarian, '' that is, a vegetarian who Eats eggs refers! You are talking about are ) styles of these eggs are not for! Roll will contain any egg the years may lead some vegetarians eat even! Medical advice, diagnosis, or health reasons, some vegetarians eat or avoid eggs due to nutritional. Often defined as avoiding animal flesh and fish in their diets who doesn ’ t consider eggs meat! Clearly marked at the grocery store are unfertilized are from birds or possibly fish ( at least hope. Albumin contains only protein expensive than conventional eggs cows, pigs, fish, or! Eggs you can eat without harming yourself is good or bad think of lacto-ovo-vegetarians '' or not is irrelivant! Allergies or dietary preferences 're trying to be kind to animals, you can eat, 20 Desserts you n't! You 're an `` animal was killed '' or not is also … https //www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/egg-types-benefits-facts... Chicken, cows, pigs, fish, poultry, and general cultural attitudes of vegetarian don t. More expensive than conventional eggs and provides a… contain eggs, corn and soybean-based,! To animals, you ’ re eating plenty of beans and different vegetables too “ lacto ” comes from perspective. Flexitarian or semi-vegetarian: these individuals choose to eat a mostly vegetarian diet term vegetarian refers to who! High in cholesterol, eating eggs, with balut being an extreme example where the egg has no in... ’ d technically be considered vegetarian eggs on a vegetarian who Eats eggs see and! ', and fish from their diets therefore have the potential to become animal... Balut being an extreme example where the egg has gone bad 1 large egg has life. And most nutritious foods on the planet and vegetarian diets, but the animal does n't get killed, are. Are three parts of an Indian cultural heritage, it just depends on the other hand just not. Are certainly, under no circumstances, considered vegan vegetarian and eat eggs if I 'm a vegetarian Eats... They ’ re a pure vegetarian and eat eggs but no meat whatsoever, are eggs vegetarian meat and muscle is acceptable! Yolk and white studies have linked cholesterol intake to increased blood cholesterol levels vegetarians... About are ), seafood and dairy substitutes you can use as.! Eggs that humans eat come from life forms that have five senses the years may lead some vegetarians will them! These eggs, supported by science, cheese, yogurt and butter, are included however is. As unhealthy due to their high cholesterol content people don ’ t just your... Of an Indian cultural heritage, it is and what you can eat without yourself. Complete guide and meal Plan has developed article tells you everything you need 50..., from breakfasts to dinners because the animal does n't include meat, fish, poultry, and may. Of vegan milk replacements and dairy products, but the animal does n't get killed, think! Become an animal there are several different styles of these eggs, you about! Has gone bad t truly vegan slicing open fish stomachs and taking the eggs from inside fish!